Miss Kentucky USA Katie George stresses value of setting goals to Lincoln County youth

6 Aug

CentralKYNews.com – “Never in a million years did I think I would be Miss Kentucky USA or go to the Miss USA pageant,” she said. “But it shows what can happen if you take a risk and push yourself out of your comfort zone.”
She joked how it was obvious she was not a “pageant girl” by the way she dressed and did not have full make-up for practice sessions. At the Miss USA pageant, contestants wore a school T-shirt and blue jean shorts on stage to introduce themselves. She was the only one who wore cowboy boots — a move her grandmother said Wednesday she was sure would eliminate her.

“I think it’s important to be comfortable in your own skin. I would never wear 6-inch heels with jean shorts. I am exactly the same person on stage as I am on the volleyball court,” George said. “I tell young girls not to be fearful of the unknown but also do not be afraid to be yourself. Even if I had lost the Miss Kentucky pageant, I would have learned something.”

55c265ddee08c.image

George is enjoying having a chance to interact with people of all ages across the state as Miss Kentucky USA. But she says she also enjoys the way Louisville ends every home volleyball match.

“We do autographs after every match even if we lose. We stay anywhere from 30 minutes to an hour and a half to make sure every single child and family member gets a poster signed,” George said. “We are blessed to have such wonderful fans. Volleyball is not cared about in every city and state. So I love that part and what our team does because I love to see people smile.”

Read the full article here.

Leave a Reply

