Miss USA host Julianne Hough wants ‘to celebrate women for more than just physical beauty’

2 Jun

EW.com – Julianne Hough has never been a huge fan of the Miss USA Pageant. “If it was on I would watch it, but I always had this kind of feeling like ‘Ugh, it’s a beauty pageant,’” Hough tells EW. But now, she is preparing to co-host and serve as a creative producer for the 2016 Miss USA Pageant.

gettyimages-517140524

So what’s changed?

The Dancing With the Stars breakout tells EW that she was drawn to the project by a combination of learning more about the Miss Universe Organization and her desire to celebrate and better humanize the contestants.

“I’m sure a lot of people have felt this way, I know I have in the past, but when you hear ‘beauty pageant,’ there’s kind of this cringe and negative connotation that comes with it, because we think that girls are competing merely based off their physical appearance,” Hough says. “And coming on as a creative producer, I thought, ‘There’s so much more to a woman than just her physical, external appearance, and we need to celebrate all parts of a woman.’ I know that the organization has done that in the past, but I really wanted the message to come across because I think, for myself and others, that’s kind of your first initial thought when you think about a pageant.”

Leave a Reply

