MISS UNIVERSE® Contestants Share Their Most Embarrassing Moments

13 Jan

We’ve all had our fair share of moments that made us say, “I hope nobody saw that…” No need to crawl in a hole and hide forever, even women competing for the title of Miss Universe get embarrassed sometimes!

15965066_10154993055744047_4347288840521652339_n

 

We asked this year’s Miss Universe contestants from all across the globe to tell us about the most embarrassing thing that’s ever happened to them and they had some crazy stories to tell! From nationally televised mishaps to awkward times with classroom crushes, check out some of their most embarrassing moments below.

Modeling Mishaps

(It sounds like more models have trouble strutting in their shoes than we thought!)

Miss Universe Bahamas 2016 Cherell Williamson: “It was my second fashion show (and a small paying gig). My shoes were much too big for me and started falling off midway during my catwalk on the runway. The audience shouted ‘take it off,’ so I did, and continued modeling a designer gown with oversized shoes in both hands.”

Miss Universe Barbados 2016 Shannon Harris: “My most embarrassing moment was also my first official job as a model! I was 15 years old and I was cast in a show and in my first walk down the runway my shoe heel broke and I was left in one shoe and dragging the other behind.  So I decided to stop walking, take off both shoes, held them in my hand and continued down the runway! I laugh about it now – but I was so embarrassed at the time!”

Miss Universe Great Britain 2016 Jaime-Lee Faulkner: “Hmmm… I sure there are a few but the only one that comes to mind at the moment would have to be when my foot came out of my shoe on the catwalk during a fashion show. I recovered it well I must add.”

Miss Universe Panama 2016 Keity Drennan: “My most embarrassing moment was the day I modeled for the first time on a runway I had been wearing a typical Panamanian dress for the carnivals and from the beginning I felt something was wrong with the skirt but the designer said not everything is ok the skirt will stay and ready just when I go to the catwalk I take a few steps and puff my skirt falls luck I was so fast that I could hold it in time so did not fall that much but this is one of the embarrassing moments that I will not forget.”

Awkward Times in School

Miss Universe Belgium 2016 Stephanie Geldhof: “I once fell from a stage during a performance at school. There were almost 2000 children looking at me. I immediately stopped my performance and ran backstage. It was actually kind of funny when I saw the video but at that moment it felt like dying inside.”

Miss Universe British V.I. 2016 Erika Renae Creque: “My most embarrassing moment was when I was in high school. We were in the middle of class change and everyone was rushing to get to their classes and someone bumped into me causing me to roll down the stairs. The entire crowd that was there laughed so I joined in and laughed to while my friends helped me up but I always thought it was embarrassing to fall in school.”

Miss Universe Cayman Islands 2016 Monyque Brooks: “I farted in front of my entire university class! I was presenting my final project at Florida International University and dropped my pen. As I bent down to pick it up I farted and the class heard it!”

Not So Casual Moments with Crushes

 Miss USA 2016 Deshauna Barber: “My most embarrassing moment was when I waitress-ed at a restaurant and did not realize my college crush was in the restaurant.  When I did finally discover he was in the restaurant I accidentally dropped a tray of food!”

Miss Universe Belize 2016 Rebecca Rath: “When I was in the fifth grade, I had a huge crush on my classmate. One day after school a bunch of friends (including my crush) were hanging out trying to jump over the muddy drain. Being the tomboy that I was, I thought this would be the perfect time to show off, so I jumped and instead of jumping over the drain, I jumped straight into it! Everyone laughed so hard at me and I ran to the bathroom and cried until my mom came to get me. It was well worth the fall because I got the guy!”

Miss Universe Nicaragua 2016 Marina Jacoby: “My most embarrassing moment was when I went to meet some of my boyfriend’s family at dinner at their house, and I was so nervous that my pressure went down.  I whispered to my boyfriend that I was not feeling well but he didn’t take it seriously, so I went to the bathroom to relax and maybe feel better but I didn’t. When I got back to the table I was so pale and more nervous because I didn’t know what to do, I didn’t want to tell them but if I didn’t I believed I was going to faint. So I decided to finally tell them how I was feeling, and they all took me to lie down in a room, but I was feeling so bad that they had to call my mother to pick me up.”

Miss Universe Curacao 2016 Chanelle de Lau: “I was at primary school when we were playing dodge ball in recess. Being the tallest girl in school, I was quite shy and often teased for my height. So during this dodge ball match I tried my best to avoid getting hit by the ball. My (at the time) crush attempted to throw the ball on the other side of the field. But no thanks to my height, it smacked me in the face instead. I felt my nose bend and my face became bright red. I ran away in tears as the others kids laughed. I spent the rest of the day with my face hidden in my arms on the desk. Avoiding to be seen!”

Miss Universe Guyana 2016 Soyini Fraser: “I’m kind of a foodie and one day I had this amazing plate of beef curry, dhal puri and a cup of dhal and I didn’t check my teeth before smiling at a guy I was smitten with. Big mistake! Turns out I had a piece of thyme on my teeth but he laughed and gently removed it for me.”

 Being Totally Embarrassed on National Television

 Miss Universe France 2016 Iris Mittenaere: “I participated to the first entertainment TV show in France: Ninja Warrior and I feel on my first obstacle. I slipped and fell in the cold water and was eliminated at the first round in front of all the French cameras.”

Miss Universe Finland 2016 Shirly Karvinen: “My most embarrassing moment was during the Miss Finland beauty pageant live final. During my interview I froze. It was my very first live TV interview and it is the most watched TV show in Finland. I just remember standing on the stage and having no idea what to say next. After that I was mortified and thought my chances for the crown were gone. But on the next round I decided to get myself together and overcome my previous mishap. Which I did and went on to win the Miss Finland title.”

Miss Universe Malta 2016 Martha Fenech: “While presenting a TV show on a local network I was asked to swim with Tuna fish. It was an amazing experience, however the sea was very rough and I get seasick very easily. I ended up throwing up (!!!!) in front of all the camera crew and several other people who were watching.”

Did Everyone See That?!

Miss US Virgin Islands 2016 Carolyn Carter: “I was casually crossing a street in St. Croix and did not notice, but a mother hen was also walking across with her baby chicks. She must have thought I was a threat because she ran after me flapping her wings. I was shocked. I screamed and ran down the road as quickly as possible until she had stopped chasing me. All of the sudden I look up, and there is a crowd of tourists hooting, howling, and clapping at the scene that had just played out. Needless to say, I curtsied, laughed, and continued on. But my cheeks were so red!”

Miss Universe Bulgaria 2016 Violina Ancheva: “Some months ago I fell on my way to a stage where I supposed to make a presentation in front of 50 students from Sofia University. I felt really embarrassed but the students started clapping to cheer me. Even though my chicks ware red I really felt confused I had one of the best presentations on stage.”

Miss Universe Germany 2016 Johanna Acs: “A really embarrassing and funny moment was when I tried parasailing for the first time in Bali. The instructor explained the proceedings so quickly that I couldn’t catch up and all of a sudden I found myself in the air without knowing how to get down later. When the instructor called me down I was lost and did not really know what to do. He was talking to me through a megaphone and the entire beach was watching me. Since I was hanging on the line it was not that dangerous, but I definitely was getting nervous. Being back on the ground I found myself blushing next to all the laughing people at the beach. Awkward.”

Miss Universe Guam 2016 Muneka Joy Cruz Taisipic: “My most embarrassing moment would be in a softball game, where they pitched the ball to me and I hit it, and as I took my first two steps to run to first base, I tripped over my foot and fell face flat on the ground while everyone laughed at me.”

Miss Universe Australia 2016 Caris Tiivel: “My most embarrassing moment was slipping over in a fancy department store in Sydney where the pianist in store came to a sudden halt to help me up but made everybody look in my direction. How embarrassing!”

Leave a Reply

