Beauty Secrets From Around the World

16 Jan

We asked this year’s Miss Universe contestants, “What is your most uncommon beauty secret or tip?” Well, we got an incredible variety of answers!

65th Miss Universe Competition - Photoshoot in Chinatown, Philippines

Miss Universe Angola Luísa Baptista and Miss Universe Georgia Nuka Karalashvili

However, some women gave us the same tips, meaning they’re definitely worth giving a shot! Check out beauty tips from across the globe below.

Crazy for Coconut Oil

Numerous contestants told us that using coconut oil is their best beauty secret!

Miss Universe Belize Rebecca Rath: “In Belize, we use coconut oil and coconut water for everything. We are always hydrated and we have shiny hair and glowing skin. Add some coconut to your life.”

Miss Universe Guyana Soyini Fraser: “Coconut oil is a great makeup remover and it’s great for your skin, too!”

Miss Universe Brazil Raissa Santana: “Coconut oil for your hair and skin.”

Miss Universe Iceland Hildur Leifsdóttir: “Mixing dark brown sugar with coconut oil and applying to my lips with a toothbrush!”

Miss Universe Argentina Estefania Bernal: “Coconut oil for the face.”

Miss Universe Norway Christina Waage: “Coconut oil! It’s good for skin care, hair care, cooking, improving digestion, and immunity. Love it!”

Miss Universe Russia Yuliana Korolkova: “Coconut oil is my beauty must-have. It can be helpful in any situation. You can moisturize lips and skin, restore the structure of hair and even brush teeth with it.”

Miss Universe Vietnam Le Hang: “Use coconut oil as a replacement for cosmetic products.”

65th Miss Universe Competition - Photoshoot in Chinatown, Philippines

Miss Universe Guam Muneka Joy Cruz Taisipic and Miss Universe Denmark Christina Mikkelsen

Other Oils

Miss Universe Costa Rica Carolina Rodriguez Duran: “My most uncommon beauty secret is pure Rosehip oil.”

Miss Universe Singapore Cheryl Chou: “Being a beauty enthusiast, I am always on the lookout for tips and tricks on how to take care of my skin. One tip that I swear by is to pat a light layer of Bio Oil over my face and neck as the last step of my skincare regimen. As the oil is known for its healing properties, it helps to combat any pigmentation that I get from breakouts. The oil also gives me a nice and healthy glow by hydrating my skin as well!”

Miss Universe Kosovo Camila Barraza: “I apply Argan oil on my face and hair before I sleep.”

Miss Universe Malta Martha Fenech: “Olive oil!! The benefits of olive oil are endless but my favourite one is adding a few drops of olive oil to my bath which leaves my skin feeling very soft, smooth and looking healthy!”

Miss Universe Belgium Stephanie Geldhof: “Tea tree oil. It’s the best for healing scars and wounds!”

It’s What You Put Inside Your Body That Counts 

Miss Universe Austria Dajana Dzinic: “Matcha Green Tea as a morning starter.”

Miss Universe Chile Catalina Cáceres: “Drinking a lot of water.”

Miss Universe Jamaica Isabel Dalley: “Beauty is from within and your diet is very important. Growing up I have always enjoyed eating raw vegetables such as tomatoes an carrots.  I  always enjoy eating vegetables instead of chips and that has help to keep me healthy and give my skin that natural glow.”

Miss Universe Denmark Christina Mikkelsen: “A good night sleep, and lots of water. This will not only make your skin better, it will make your whole day better.”

Miss Universe Mexico Kristal Silva: “Drinking enough water and remove makeup before bed, because it helps you protect your skin.”

Miss Universe Sweden Ida Ovmar: “I believe in the basics. Go for a healthy lifestyle in general. Be active, eat clean and sleep well!”

Miss USA Deshauna Barber: “I drink over two liters of water a day.  I believe that is the best way to have healthy skin and a healthy body.

65th Miss Universe Competition - Photoshoot in Chinatown, Philippines

Miss Universe Angola Luísa Baptista, Miss Universe Georgia Nuka Karalashvili, Miss Universe Guam Muneka Joy Cruz Taisipic and Miss Universe Denmark Christina Mikkelsen

Tips for Luscious Lashes 

Miss Universe Ecuador Connie Jiménez: “I use a spoon instead of an eyelash curler. I had a Mexican friend in the university that taught me, give the spoon a quick blast of the blow dryer and enjoy a wide-eyed look.”

Miss Universe Netherlands Zoey Ivory: “Heat your eyelash curler with your blow dryer or hot water. It feels nicer on your eyes and your eyelashes become curlier. And maybe it’s not an uncommon beauty tip, but I think the most important tip is: clean your skin every morning and evening.”

More Beauty Secrets

Miss Universe Angola Luísa Baptista: “Frozen towels on the face to remove dark circles and honey with sugar to exfoliate the skin.”

Miss Universe British V.I. Erika Creque: “My most uncommon beauty tip would be early in the morning making sure the bathroom window and door is closed and taking a nice hot steamy shower. This opens my pored and makes me feel cleansed and lighter. After bathing I then turn the water back to cool so I can close my pores and keep out any dirt and proceed with my day lighter and more relaxed.”

Miss Universe Cayman Islands Monyque Brooks: “I use milk of magnesia to help control oil!”

Miss Universe Dominican Republic Rosalba Abreu: “Since I was 10 years old I take mineral mud baths in a hot-spring located next to a river that is part of my father’s property in rural Maimón. It is my own secret beauty spot.”

Miss Universe Kenya Mary Were: “My secret nail beauty tip is to apply a mix of lemon juice, two table spoons of sugar and apply using a cotton wool to my nails. I then apply hydrogen peroxide to keep my nails glowing by day. By night, I apply a mix of one table spoon of olive oil and two table spoons of honey before bed. I apply with a brush before bed. This is meant to strengthen my nails. “

Miss Universe Mauritius Kushboo Ramnawaj: “Using avocado and honey as a mixture to nourish my hair. I leave it for about an hour every weekend. Avocado is great to moisturize the hair whereas honey brings a nice scent to it.”

Miss Universe Venezuela Mariam Habach: “I used avocado, olive oil and aloe vera in my hair.”

Miss Universe Spain Noelia Freire: “Exfoliating my skin with sea salt.”

Miss Universe Sri Lanka Jayathi De Silva: “Applying Baby Powder (talc) on the roots of the hair is an excellent alternative to dry shampoo as it gets rid of oil.”

Miss Universe Uruguay Magdalena Cohendet: “To put honey on dry lips.”

Leave a Reply

